You are here

The Foundational Documents of the American Legal System

This is a collection of documents that have formed the foundation of the American legal system. 

  • Magna Carta (1215)
  • Mayflower Compact (1620)
  • The Declaration of Independence (1776)
  • The Articles of Confederation (1777)
  • The Treaty of Paris (1783)
  • The Northwest Ordinance of 1787
  • The Consitution of the United States (1787)
  • The Bill of Rights (1791)

The translations and text of these documents came from

19.653 Words, 39 Pages in PDF Published 2014

eLangdell Book Author(s)

eBook Downloads

CALI Topics

Creative Commons Licensing

Creative Commons Licence