Lesson Viewed

Airman Medical Standards and Certification

This lesson examines the Federal Aviation Regulations Part 67: Medical Standards and Certification (14 C.F.R. § 67 et. seq.). Additionally, it explores the options for airmen when medical certification is denied, suspended, or revoked. The reasons for these abjurations and the appeal process are also explained. Finally, a series of cases is presented to help illustrate the enforcement action.

Learning Outcomes

On completion of the lesson, the student will be able to:

  1. Recognize when medical certification is required.
  2. State the differences between first-, second-, and third-class medical certificates.
  3. Give examples of disqualifying medical conditions and where additional information may be obtained.
  4. Differentiate among the functions of an AME, AMCD Manager, Regional Flight Surgeon and Federal Air Surgeon.
  5. Describe the differences between a Statement of Demonstrated Ability and an Authorization for a Special Issuance of a Medical Certificate.
  6. Explain the Medical Certification procedure including the appeal process when medical certificates are denied, suspended, or revoked.
Access Denied
Access to CALI Lessons is restricted to people affiliated with CALI member organizations and those who have purchased individual memberships. You may register or login to run CALI Lessons.

Lesson Authors