Aviation Law

  • This Subject Area Index lists all CALI lessons covering Aviation Law.
  • The Aviation Law Outline allows you to search for terms of art that correspond to topics you are studying to find suggestions for related CALI Lessons.
Lesson Viewed

Airman Medical Standards and Certification

This lesson examines the Federal Aviation Regulations Part 67: Medical Standards and Certification (14 C.F.R. § 67 et. seq. ). Additionally, it explores the options for airmen when medical certification is denied, suspended, or revoked. The reasons for these abjurations and the appeal process are also explained. Finally, a series of cases is presented to help illustrate the enforcement action.

Lesson Viewed

Airport Ownership and Rights

Airport categories can be split into two types, public-use and private use. At the same time airport ownership is broken into two categories as well, private ownership and public ownership. However, airport categories and ownership do not line up along the same lines - there exist privately owned, public use airports. This lesson seeks to distinguish between public and private ownership of airports as well as their powers available to each.

Please note that the opinions and views expressed in this lesson are solely those of the author.

Lesson Viewed

Aviation Law: Sources of Law and Jurisdiction

In the United States, federal laws extensively regulate aircraft, airlines, pilots, and airports. People and companies involved in aviation need to be familiar with these federal laws, as well as state and international regulations that affect aircraft and airlines. The Federal Aviation Administration, the National Transportation Safety Administration, and the Department of Transportation, as well as state laws and international treaties, all play a role in regulating aviation.

Lesson Viewed

FAA Pilot Certificate Enforcement Actions

This lesson covers the role of the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) in enforcing the Federal Aviation Regulations (FAR), known formally as Title 14 Code of Federal Regulations (14 CFR). Title 14 CFR has numerous parts that are organized by category of operation; that is, categories include: pilots and instructors, aircraft operators, aircraft manufacturers, and space transportation.

Lesson Viewed

Federal Communications Commission Aviation Jurisdiction

The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) is not normally associated with aviation jurisdiction other than perhaps the issuance of radiotelephone station/operator licenses. However, the FCC is an independent Federal Agency which has been entitled by Congress to regulate and enforce a broad range of aviation matters. This lesson was created as a primer for the aviation law student or a refresher for the legal professional working in the aviation field. At the completion of this lesson the student should be knowledgeable of the scope and authority of FCC jurisdiction in aviation matters.